Odious Mortem


Odious Mortem is a 5 piece band from Santa Cruz , CA whose music focuses on technical, dark, and experimental aspects of the death metal genre. Inspired early on by groups like Deeds of Flesh, Suffocation, and Nile, Odious was formed in 2000 by Dan Eggers (guitar, vocals), David Siskin (guitar) and KC Howard (Drums, also of Decrepit Birth). After a few years of off and on composition, Odious recorded their demo "Gestation of Worms" in 2003. Soon after that, they were introduced to Matt Sotelo (Decrepit Birth/Legion Studios) and inevitably made arrangements to record a long awaited full length. Once completed, unmastered promo copies of the recording were sent around to different labels. Not too long after that, they made a deal with Unique Leader Records who released their debut album "Devouring the Prophecy" in February 2005.

Since then Odious Mortem has added 2 new members, Joel Horner on bass and Anthony Trapani (also of Carnivorous) on vocals. After playing throughout the west side of the U.S. with great bands such as Origin, Necrophagist, Arsis, Deeds of Flesh, Severed Savior, Sleep Terror... ODIOUS was added to the Bloodletting V North America tour in summer 2006 with Deeds of Flesh, Vile and Decrepit Birth.

Now back from tour, ODIOUS has been finishing the writing for their second album, "Cryptic Implosion" due for an early 2007 release on Willowtip Records.